Canción de la Semana: “Waka Waka (Esto es Africa)” por Shakira

When I first started using songs in my class, this was the very first song I started off with. Let’s be honest, does it get much better than Shakira?!

Here’s what makes this song great:

1. It is a great way to discuss culture. This was the song created for the World Cup in 2010 and features a LOT of clips from footballers (like Messi) and other players from Spanish-speaking countries.

2. Part of the song is in Swahili. The reason for this, of course, is because the World Cup took place in South Africa. I used this as a cultural and language comparison.

3. Shakira’s dance she does in the chorus is really easy to learn and imitate. I had my students do it along with her whenever the chorus would come up. They really enjoyed it.

4. I created two listening activities to go with this song. This one is a Cloze activity with missing lyrics to the song: shakira waka waka cloze activity , while this one is one where the English and Spanish lyrics are given, but there are missing spaces in the English lyrics for students to write in the meaning of the words: shakira waka waka english spansih.

Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. My students LOVE this song, but next year, I’m going to show it later in the year (I also do Canción de la semana) because nothing measured up to Waka Waka in their eyes, lol.

  2. I love your Canciones de la semana! I haven’t heard of all of them. I had this discussion with a colleague about how to make songs more discussion based. My idea was to have them ask their partners if they liked the song and video. They could also ask a few other questions. Have you ever done anything like this? I love the cloze activities, and my Spanish 2 students are cloze rockstars, but how do you change it up?

    • Glad you like my song of the week! I agree that cloze activities all of the time can be boring. I try to add some variety each time. Sometimes I’ll play part of the song without showing them the video, and they have to describe the singer`s physical traits or where he/she is from. Sometimes I’ll have them write down all of the words they recognize, or I will divide up the song and have them create actions to narrate their stanza. We’ve even had singing competitions before, but I’m always open for more ideas!

  3. Pingback: Top Posts of 2014 | Mi Clase es Su Clase

Leave a Reply

