Classroom Ideas for the New School Year

Today I made it into my classroom for the first time since June. Boy, do I have a lot of work ahead of me before school begins! However, I’m really excited to implement some new ideas and techniques this year. Here are two of the new things in my classroom:

1. Entiendo o No Entiendo:

entiendo o no entiendo

Often I ask my students to use their fingers and show me 0-5 how much they are understanding what we are learning or practicing. Also, on the way out the door I always ask an exit question to dismiss each row. I thought that on top of asking a question for each row, I would have each student move a magnet to a number to reflect how well they understood class today.

This was really easy to make. I just used this template: entiendo no entiendo. Then, I glued magnets (from Hobby Lobby) to glass beads (also from Hobby Lobby; the kind you use in fish tanks).

beads and magnets

Next, I got six paint samples from our local hardware store. I chose six shades of the same color, but other colors would work too.

entiendo o no entiendo paint

And there you have it!

 Update: Now that it is the end of the year, I can reflect on how this chart went over with my students. I have to say that it was a great success. They got into the routine of moving their magnets over before they left class each day; in fact, I didn’t even have to remind them after a while. The only change I would make would be to use something other than stones to glue on the magnets. I found that the stones fell off more easily than foam stickers. 

2. Important Verb Chart:

I created this poster to help my students with remembering four of the most important verbs in Spanish 1: ser, estar, ir and tener. Here’s the template:important verbs chart

important verbs

Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Game: Puntos (Dots) | Mi Clase es Su Clase

  2. Pingback: New Ideas for the New Year (2015) | Mi Clase es Su Clase

Leave a Reply

