Canción de la Semana: “Madre Tierra” por Shel Dixon

shel dixon

Two things I don’t find a lot of when I’m researching songs to use in class are:
1. Costa Rican singers
2. Songs about the environment

I have used Shel before (see here), and I love his style, so I was excited to discover this song!

Here’s what I love:
1. Nature: There are lots of wonderful examples of vocabulary that many of us use in environmental units. I created a Cloze activity to focus on these words. Here you go! shel dixon madre tierra
2. Of course… I love how different this song is, and how it makes students re-think what Latin music is like.

15 responses »

  1. Pingback: Canción de la Semana: “Olita del Altamar” por Café Tacvba | Mi Clase es Su Clase

  2. Pingback: Canción de la Semana: “Madre Tierra (Oye)” por Chayanne | Mi Clase es Su Clase

  3. Wow! Great resource! My Spanish 12 students are learning the Conditional AND about Costa Rica right now! Great song choice! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

