Game: Puntos (Dots)

Anyone remember playing dots as a kid? This is the game where you drew a bunch of dots on a paper and took turns making lines to connect the dots with the purpose of making a square. Here’s a quick video if you’ve never played before.

In the past, I’ve unsuccessfully attempted to use this in class to practice Spanish, but had not really found a method I liked. This morning, inspiration hit and I came up with this:

wpid-img_20150508_142808_739.jpg

Here’s the puntos template聽for the board game. I just printed mine out and put them in page protectors so the kids could use dry erase markers on them. After the day was over, I laminated them to use for future lessons and classes.

Here’s what you need:

  • The “puntos” game board
  • playing pieces (I used extra glass stones I had from making my entiendo/no entiendo board in the beginning of the year
  • dice (one per group)
  • a list of 26 questions (I created a table so that I can change the questions and answers depending on the chapter)

wpid-img_20150508_143547_073.jpg

Here’s how you play:

1. Have students work with a partner to play this game. First, they need to put their playing pieces on any space around the board.

wpid-img_20150508_143604_143.jpg

2. Then, have students take turns rolling the dice. The dice indicates how many spaces they are to move ahead. For example, if I was on space 20 and rolled a 5, then I would go to space 25.

3. Have their partner read the question for that space. If they get the question correct, they get to draw a line somewhere in the center. If they get the answer wrong, they don’t get to draw a line.

4. If it is a student’s turn to draw a line and he/she completes a box, he/she needs to put their name or initial in the center. The winner is the student with the most squares.

wpid-wp-1431110251253.jpeg

Here’s what’s nice about this game:

1. You can easily use this with any and all topics. All you need to do is change the questions.

2. Since the board is set up in a “circle”, they might get the same questions multiple times. That gives more opportunities for extra practice.

3. Students love it. We played this game a little longer than we usually do, and I didn’t hear any complaints or signs that they wanted to stop.

Enjoy!

7 responses »

  1. My Spanish 3/4 students played this today with questions about bullfighting as part of our current unit. They had so much fun! I am currently making a set of questions about food for Spanish 1 to play tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: May 15, 2015 | Maris Hawkins

  3. This is such a good idea! I’ve just printed and laminated a whole set of boards and questions for one class and about to create a set of questions for another class.
    I love simple game ideas like this that are so easily adaptable for us teachers and understandable for the students! Thanks so much for sharing! 馃檪

Leave a Reply

