Frida Kahlo

This chapter, my students are learning about Mexico. One of the topics we discuss is Frida Kahlo, a famous Mexican artist. This year I did what I did last year, which was to come to class dressed up as Frida. I told my classes about “my” life and art, and I even managed to stay in character the entire class. After learning about “my” life as an artist, we painted.

In preparation for this day, I went in search of age appropriate videos or activities to share with the kids in Spanish. During my search, I came across two really great resources:

  1. Zamba: Excursión al Museo de Bellas Artes
    1. This was a cute video which nicely explains Frida in just under 4 minutes.
  2. La Casa de Frida
    1. This was a great, interactive website, in Spanish, that allows students to investigate into Frida’s house, La Casa Azul.

 

3 responses »

  1. Great ideas! Have you read the Frida Kahlo biography from TPRS Publishing? It’s really interesting and accessible for students, and might be a perfect addition to this unit!

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: November 27, 2015 | Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

